Information - Japanese Ophthalmological Society


The JOS International Young Investigator Award

The Japanese Ophthalmology Society (JOS) is pleased to announce that the JOS International Young Investigator Award is launched for up to five papers, which have been written by young ophthalmologists in the Asia-Pacific region and have been published in peer-reviewed journals related to Ophthalmology and Visual Science from January to December, 2019.

Applicant Eligibility

Applicants should meet all of the following requirements:

  • Be an ophthalmologist aged 40 or below as of January 1 2021.
  • Be a resident of a country in the Asia-Pacific region other than Japan.
  • Be a first or corresponding author of the paper of application.
  • Have conducted his/her work regarding the paper of application in their home country.
  • Be not or Have no plan to be an oversee graduate or post-graduate student in Japan.
  • Have to submit the PDF of the paper.
  • Have a recommendation preferably from the President of the country's Ophthalmological Society, or otherwise from the President of an academic society related to ophthalmology or vision science to which the applicant belongs.
  • Make an oral presentation in the International Crosstalk Symposium by Young Ophthalmologists to be held during the JOS Annual Meeting, Apr.8th-11th, 2021.
  • Be not allowed to obtain other travel grants to attend the JOS Annual Meeting.

Note: Although multiple applications by the same person are allowed, those who have not yet won the JOS International Young Investigator Award shall be prioritized.

Financial Support from JOS

Each successful applicant will:

  • Be granted a waiver of the registration fee.
  • Receive 100,000 yen or travel and lodging.

How to Apply and Be Selected

Interested young ophthalmologists are requested to complete the following online application form, convert the completed form to PDF format, and submit it via e-mail to by Mar 31, 2020. All submissions are reviewed by the JOS International Young Investigator Award Committee. Final participants rated in the top five are selected and will be notified at a late date. However, in principle only one person per country will be selected in any given year.

Application Form

Application Form (42KB)

Application Form (26KB)